With unobstructed views of nearby Box Hill, Pixham is located by the confluence of Pippbrook and the River Mole on the eastern edge of Dorking. Pixham has existed as a settlement for many years, with houses dating back to the 17th century. There is even the suggestion that a Romano-British fortified post was located here, serving nearby Stane Street.
More recently the author of Robinson Crusoe, Daniel Defoe, attended the Reverend James Fisher's boarding school in Pixham Lane. The early 19th Century saw the construction of two watermills - Pixham Mill on the Pippbrook built in 1837 on the site of an earlier mill - and Castle Mill on the River Mole. Both mills and the adjoining houses are grade 2 listed.
A well-known Pixham resident and benefactor, Miss Mary Mayo, enriched the community by providing land for an infant's school (which became St Martin's Annexe and is now our Community Centre - Old Pixham School), which was built in 1880, and a church. Designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens in 1903; the grade 2 listed St Mary's Church, and the traditionally styled primary school are both located on Pixham Lane.
As well as these historical attractions, Pixham boasts a large sports ground in a beautiful rural setting with views of Box Hill and the North Downs. The Downs and surrounding countryside are easily accessible by public footpaths, often without crossing a road.
Pixham is fortunate to be the location of The Patchworking Garden Project, established in a walled garden in 2014 to bring positive change to people’s lives through the benefits of friendship and gardening.
In 1928 Pixham was absorbed by the Urban District Council into Dorking, but has retained its character.
We are an easy 10 min walk from Dorking mainline and Deepdene train stations, and a bus service runs though the Lane.